fbpx
A climate strike that took place in Birmingham, England, in 2019. Photo by James Trewby

In-person climate strikes are back!

The COVID-19 pandemic forced online many climate strikes during recent months.

But “Fridays for Future” has called for a Global Day of Climate Action on Friday 25 September, and strikes and demonstrations in line with pandemic safety recommendations are scheduled to take place around the world.

In places where in-person protests are still not feasible, people are encouraged to continue raising their voices online.

Here are seven ways to safely join the Global Day of Climate Action.

  1. Take a photo with a sign saying “I act for the climate because ___________” using #SeasonOfCreation #ClimateAction #ClimateStrike
    You can find the signs here.
  2. Participate in a Fridays For Future event near you, if it is safe to do so
  3. Pray for the strike
    Read more: ‘We are on your side,’ Cardinal Hollerich tells climate-striking youth
  4. Join youth leaders in a Season of Creation webinar all about youth climate action

Youth-led Season of Creation webinar
Prophetic voices for climate action

These inspiring activists and their peers have grabbed the world’s attention and tried to jolt all of us into action as the climate emergency worsens across the globe.

When: Friday 25 September
Time: 9:00 Quito / 10:00 New York / 15:00 London / 16:00 Madrid, Rome / 17:00 Nairobi

Join the Season of Creation webinar titled, “Prophetic voices for climate action:
Learn from other young people of faith acting for climate”

The speakers:

Charles Bakolo Mvula

Charles Bakolo Mvula

Malawi Green Anglicans Coordinator and Renew our World

Aaron Salzman

Aaron Salzman

United States, Catholic Divestment Network and Laudato Si' Generation member

Luiz Filipe Fialho

Luiz Filipe Fialho

Brazilian Environmental Activist

Daniel Dos Santos Lima

Daniel Dos Santos Lima

Manaus Anglican Community member

Kelly Sherman-Conroy

Kelly Sherman-Conroy

Lakota-Sioux Nation member

  1. Invite five friends to sign the statement for a Just Transition
  2. Commit to one new way to reduce your carbon footprint
  3. Unite with others from around the world during the Interfaith Green Festival
    Learn ways to demonstrate opposition to fossil fuel projects and advocate for a just recovery throughout the world.
    The Interfaith Green Festival will include a focus on the proposed East Africa Crude Oil Pipeline and will be live-streamed on GCCM Africa’s Facebook page.

When: Friday 25 September
Time: 9:00 New York / 14:00 London / 15:00 Madrid, Rome / 16:00 Nairobi

Participate in the Global Day of Climate Action by joining the Interfaith Green Festival